Well, I Survived

Last night before going to bed I ate a small snack, took the Lipitor I take to thwart my evil cholesterol levels, and the Glucovance that works diligently to keep my blood sugar in check, and the new script Actos to help keep that morning blood sugar in the normal ranges, and then crawled into bed with my new book.

And as I settled down, I counted the meds again….lipitor? check. glucovance? well, I normally take it with dinner, but check. Actos? Wait! That’s an a.m. pill! Oh, no! Have I poisoned myself? ?I was bolt upright with panic.

However, the lures of the new book drew my attention there, and soon I was drifting off to sleep, panic diminished.

This morning. I again was bolt upright, happy to be awake, for one. I tested quickly, and was relieved to see a happy 107 bs reading (bs has a whole new and different meaning for me since the diabetes diagnosis). My fasting blood sugar has not been that low since I was put on the medicine. It was starting to upset me that we couldn’t get it down.

So now the question is this: is the morning reading due to the Glucovance taken at bedtime instead of with dinner? or was it the Actos at night instead of in the morning?  I will have to experiment – not too much, it’s my health and I don’t want to jeopardize anything by playing the medicine combination. However, I see no harm in experimenting with the timing of my dosage. Tonight, I’m going to take the Lipitor and Glucovance at bedtime again, and take the Actos in the morning like I’m supposed to, and we’ll see Wednesday morning if that was the trigger. If not, I’ll take the Glucovance at dinner as per normal, and take the Actose at bedtime with the Lipitor. And then test Thursday.

and so on and so on…..

2 thoughts on “Well, I Survived

  1. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. I’m sorry I’m so late in responding to this…I’m still kinda new to this blogging thing and to Word Press, and life kinda took off after a while. I’m trying to do this thing every day.

    Thank you for your kind words. I don’t want this blog, even if I’m posting sporadically, to be blog version of Twitter.

    Thanks again, I’m sorry I’m a dork. lol.

Leave a Reply

